a drawing project/you’re invited

24Oct12

drawing, free drawings, a drawing project, watercolor on paper, sketchbook painting, sketchbook drawing

My first solo show of my individual work opens six months from tomorrow at SOHO20 Gallery in NYC. As I start to prepare in earnest, I’ve realized that I won’t know until a couple weeks beforehand what will end up on the walls. I am just going to make as much work as I can in the upcoming months, and decide before I leave for New York what the best work I have made is. That means I will have a bunch of preparatory drawings, sketches, and finished work that will not end up in my show.

A couple of ideas came from the realization that I will have piles of drawings in my studio come spring. One of them is that I’d like to give most of these away..something that I have already started to do, actually, without really thinking about it. I don’t like to hang my own work in my apartment, and I don’t like the idea of art being tucked away. I want it to be out in the world.

I like to begin any project or work by creating a set of parameters for myself; here are the rules for who I will give work to:

1. people I like

2. people I haven’t already given work to (sales and trades don’t count)

3. people who I know will appreciate and enjoy it

4. people who see this post and ask for a piece (and who fit parameters 1-3)

The only other rule is that I can only give away as much work as I can make, obviously. I will give away work that I’ve made, but don’t want to make work to give away– if that makes sense.

wall of new drawings in my studio

colored pencil and acrylic on tracing paper, 14×17″

graphite and tempera stencil and monoprint on paper, 17×14″

graphite and acrylic stencil on paper, 17×14″

drawing, free drawings, a drawing project, watercolor on paper, sketchbook painting, sketchbook drawing

drawing, free drawings, a drawing project, watercolor on paper, sketchbook painting, sketchbook drawing

drawing, free drawings, a drawing project, watercolor on paper, sketchbook painting, sketchbook drawing

drawing, free drawings, a drawing project, watercolor on paper, sketchbook painting, sketchbook drawing

No Responses Yet to “a drawing project/you’re invited”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

